As I continue to read the Gospel of John and learn a lot about Jesus and His character – the thing that stands out the most is that not once does he take the credit for the miracles he’s performing. Every. Single. Time. It’s about God, the one who sent Him, His Father, etc. Every. Single. Time. That is an amazing important yet simple lesson to grasp. In our society we want the credit for every little thing – even things we didn’t do. We want to be affiliated with it somehow. But this is teaching us the opposite. When it comes to things that happen here on Earth – we are not to seek to put our name on it but to use it as an opportunity to glorify God. That makes me completely rethink this 6-month thing. It’s not about me becoming a better person so that I can be a better mate. No. It’s about me allowing God to work through me so that he can be glorified through my life each and every day. At the end of this if I am a better person for a better mate – then that, too is God’s work – not the work of these 6 months. If that ends up leading to marriage then that is to glorify God not to say “I did this thing for 6 months that’s why our marriage is great!” No – it’s because I depended on God to get me through everything and he will get the glory at the end. Alternatively, if I am single for the rest of my life all the better ways to glorify God! WHATEVER I do, big or small, I should always be able to use it as an opportunity to glorify God and to lead some souls to Christ.

For I have come down from heaven not to do My own will, but the will of Him who sent me. John 6:38

I can of Myself do nothing. As I hear, I judge; and My judgment is righteous because I do not seek My own will but the will of the Father who sent me. John 5:30

And there were more instances of this. But it kinda reminds me of Tebow – letting God use him and such.

Thankful for this journey (currently reading John Chapter 14).

