Once upon a time I was a voracious little reader. I would devour books. Finish them in days, with a never ending “to read” list.  All types of genres, all types of authors. Laugh out loud, self-help, travel-related, autobiographies, fictional dramas, all of that (loved me some Jodi Picoult). And then, one day, in came this monster known as… grad school (dun dun dunnnnn). Well, let me tell you. I don’t think I read a book not related to international education, organizational theory, or social change in the last two and a half years. So you don’t know how happy I am to be back reading. So happy in fact that I can’t read just one book at a time. Noooo… I am trying to do the absolute most. There are currently 4 books sitting on my nightstand. And I’m about to pick up another one from the library tomorrow. The most.

My current nightstand situation

My current nightstand situation

So here’s what I’m #nowreading:

1. Operating Instruction: A Journal of My Son’s First Year by Anne Lamott – LOVE the way this woman writes. I laugh out loud just enough to find it funny but not distracting (can funny ever really be distracting though?). I think the funniest part of all is that these are all true stories (this is about her figuring out how to raise her son – stories I’m sure many moms would be embarrassed to share).

2. Not a Fan by Kyle Idleman – Ok so I actually just finished this one. Awesome book that helps you distinguish between being just a Christian and an actual disciple of christ – “fan vs. follower.” Very insightful. I may have to share a few things from this one. (Started reading this one as part of the Starving Christians Online Book Club – check it out!).

3. Successful Women Think Differently: 9 Habits to Make You Happier, Healthier, and More Resilient by Valerie Burton – This book is good. And practical. I actually don’t remember how I discovered it, but I don’t think I was expecting it to also include tenets on faith and scripture (though not a lot). Loving the coaching aspect of the book – especially as I prepare to enter this new season of my life professionally (details coming soon!).

4. The Circle Maker by Mark Betterson – I have been “reading” this book for weeks now. Which means it didn’t catch my attention from the first pages. I have been reading everything else except this one. But I hear it’s powerful. I am going to get back into this one soon! Or at least before it’s due back to the library….

Oh and the one I’m going to pick up tomorrow (not pictured):

5. The Resolution for Women by Priscilla Shirer – Y’all know Priscilla Shirer is my homegirl in my head. More like my really cool young aunt. But I have heard such phenomenal things about this book that I am going to start it immediately – even though I am still reading these other books. Don’t ask me how that’s going to work….

And of course every day, I’ve gotta get some Bible in there! Along with my Discerning the Voice of God Bible Study. So yeah, that’s what’s going on in my reading life. What about you? What is everyone else out there reading? Also, add me on goodreads so we can share book ideas! If you’re not on there, you should be!

