(That is how old people pronounce “courting.” And it makes me chuckle every time. Ok maybe I’m generalizing. By old people I mean my grandma and my great aunt.)

Check this out: Courting vs. Dating & Courting process

So about this whole courting thing. I know so many people want to know what it means. How is it different from dating? Are they the same thing? When you are dating someone, you go on dates. Does this mean when you are courting someone, you go on courts? Is this a potato pot-ah-to thing? Or more of an apples to oranges thing?

Well let me give you my two cents: I don’t care what you call it. Are you trying to be with someone because you want to be married and are evaluating that person? Or because you feel lonely? Or bored? Or just because? The intent is what matters – what you call it does not.

But there are some people who do care what you call it. And who have questions. So I’m attaching a document that a friend shared with me about a year ago. It breaks it down so that it is forever broke. So here it is folks: “Courting vs. Dating & Courting process.” The first page distinguishes between what it means to court (coat, tehehe) and to date. The second page walks you through the courting process. And while I don’t care what it is called, I definitely rocks with this document because it says the very first stage of courting is this:

“Commit yourself to being sold out for Christ.”

Step 1, check! (And if Step 1 is not a check, then do not pass go, do not collect $200). Cue music (and scene):

